Cocktail of the Week

15 Feb

Recently, the incompetent boyfriend and I went on a trip with my family. In the airport on the way home, he decided to take advantage of one of the duty-free liquor shops. He purchased two bottles: Big Black Dick rum (I know) and Absolut Peppar. I’m not terribly interested in exploring cocktail-making with the former (it would be impossible for me not to make dirty puns the whole time, so I’ll spare you that), but the Absolut Peppar intrigues me. My boyfriend bought it for Bloody Marys — however, we never do brunch, because on weekends I am usually tutoring, and while a drink or two could probably help me better explain the intricacies of the SAT, I also have to drive to my students’ homes. Plus, tipsy tutoring would be kind of unprofessional, I guess.

So I wondered: surely there must be other ways in which I can partake of this pepper-flavored vodka in the form of more suitably nocturnal drinks? I did some research, and it turns out there are a whole bunch of drinks that use this ingredient. I’m posting the ones that look the most delicious to me. I haven’t tried them yet (guys, it’s 11:39 am on a Tuesday — I’m not that dedicated to my blog. Wait, maybe I should be. It’s all for the sake of research, right?) so let me know what you think.

PINEAPPLE PEPPER MARTINI (www.make-martinis-at-home.com)

Sweet at first, with a kick at the end. Yum.

1 1/2oz pepper vodka
1/2oz simple syrup*
1/2oz fresh lime juice
2oz pineapple juice

Shake ingredients cold and serve in a martini glass.

PEPPAR HOT & DIRTY MARTINI (absolutads.com)

If you like salty drinks (cough, incompetent bf), this one’s for you.

2 parts pepper vodka

Dash of extra dry vermouth

Dash of olive juice

Pour vodka over ice. Add vermouth and olive juice. Shake or stir well. Strain and serve in a chilled cocktail glass.

PEPPAR DAIQUIRI (absolutads.com)

Again with the sweet and spicy together, which I love. You might want to wait till the weather’s warmer, though, since it’s frozen. But then again, I still eat ice cream in winter, so do you.

1 part pepper vodka

2 dashes lime juice

Dash simple syrup*

Fresh strawberries  (I’d use frozen ones — they’re cheaper, and you can get them year-round)

Mix with ice in a blender and strain into a chilled cocktail glass. Garnish with a strawberry. Press a slice of lime over the drink.

You can, of course, use other brands of pepper vodka. Or, if you’re feeling fancy, you can make your own! The always reliable Emeril provides a recipe here:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/pepper-vodka-recipe/index.html

BAM!

* To make simple syrup (sugar dissolved in water), which is great to have around to sweeten cold things, just combine equal parts sugar and water in a bottle and shake till sugar is dissolved.

 

Leave a Reply

