I suck. But this dip is really good.

9 Mar

Guys. I have been M.I.A. for way too long now. It has become a problem. All I can say is…I’ve been in a funk. A winter-slash-job-search-induced funk. Meanwhile, the incompetent bf has gone and landed himself a role in a high school play and is never home for dinner because he’s constantly rehearsing (hey, seducing 16-year-olds on stage is hard work), so combine that with the aforementioned funk, and there has been a lot of non-cooking going on in my apartment. I have instead been buying things of baked ziti from the Italian place down the street and forcing them to last for 4 dinners, microwaving frozen peas and carrots and putting parmesan cheese on them to convince myself that I’m eating a plate of pasta, and eating a whole lot of cereal. Oh, and chocolate. NOT PRETTY.

The one highlight has been my new rice cooker that my dad got me and discovering how amazingly delicious steel-cut oats are — but I think I might devote a whole post to that later (anyway, thanks dad!).

For now, I’ll leave you with a recipe I adapted for this other food blog I’ll be writing for (a real one where I have to try to talk like a real person and write in a formal, more upbeat way; it’s surprisingly difficult) — a healthier version of seven-layer dip. I tested it out on Sunday night, and the bf ate about 3/4 of it in 5 minutes, and kept moaning with happiness, so I’m thinking it’s pretty good. It’s also not as bad for you as regular seven-layer dip, so, holla! You can eat it with tortilla chips, or do what I did and put some in a couple tortillas and it’s like a sort of burrito situation.

“Holla”? “Like a sort of burrito situation”? Wow. Can you tell that I haven’t been writing and my brain is turning to mush?

Anyway, the shiz is good. Try it for your next party.

 

this is fairly close to what mine looked like, but with chopped avocado instead of guacamole. Trust me, the guac makes a difference.

 

 

Seven-Layer Dip

Ingredients:

Bean layer:

1 15 oz can refried black beans

¼ cup water

1 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp cumin

dash of hot sauce (optional)

Guacamole:

2 medium ripe avocados, pitted and sliced into chunks

3 cloves garlic, minced

juice of one lime

pinch of salt

Pico de gallo:

3 medium tomatoes, diced

½ medium red onion, finely chopped

3 tbsp fresh cilantro, chopped

juice of one lime

pinch of salt

Toppings:

1 cup shredded cheddar or Monterey jack cheese

1/2 small can black olives, sliced

1 jalapeño pepper, sliced

½ cup light sour cream

 

Method:

Guacamole: Mash avocados and combine with other ingredients.

Pico de gallo: Combine all ingredients

Beans:

Heat refried beans in a medium-sized skillet over medium-low heat. Stir in enough water to thin out the consistency of the beans and make them easier to spread and dip, up to ¼ cup. Stir in chili powder, cumin, and hot sauce if desired.

When beans are hot, spread in an even layer along the bottom of a large glass dish. Immediately sprinkle with cheese, so that cheese melts on the warm beans. Follow with a layer of guacamole and a layer of pico de gallo; top with sour cream, olives, and jalapeños for garnish.

Serve warm with tortilla chips, or make it a meal with warm tortillas.

Note: Your seven-layer dip can be eight layers, or six – have fun with it, and add other ingredients you love. Red peppers add crunch, while corn adds color (when I made it, I used this amazing frozen roasted corn from Trader Joe’s — so good); if you’re a big cilantro fan, add some more to the top layer (which I obviously did). Point is, play around with the ingredients. Heck, add some ground beef or turkey and make it a real meal (no offense vegetarians).

 

another picture for which I deserve no credit. It's nice though, no? Man I need to find that camera cord.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

